These New Puritans | 01/01/70

Image: press photo tnp hidden

Set for release on January 18th 2010, Hidden marks the next step for These New Puritans since ‘Beat Pyramid’ infiltrated the minds and hearts of people yearning to find a band who would challenge, perplex and mesmerise in equal measure.

Produced by TNPS's Jack Barnett and Graham Sutton (Bark Psychosis, Boymerang) and mixed by Dave Cooley (J Dilla, MF DOOM) the album draws equally on the rhythmic lexicons of dancehall and 20th century post-minimalism, with instrumentation redolent of both the oceanic brass of Benjamin Britten's Peter Grimes and the plastic textures of modern U.S. pop. It is sometimes brutal, sometimes melancholy, and sounds like nothing else.

Hidden features six-foot Japanese Taiko drums, a thirteen piece brass and woodwind ensemble, sub-heavy beats, prepared piano, a children's choir, Foley recording techniques (including a melon with cream crackers attached struck by a hammer, used to simulate the sound of a human head being smashed), and the ethereal voice of Heather Marlatt from dream-pop group Salem.

Full tracklisting for album is below.

The band unveils the album at a very special London show at Bush Hall on 25th January 2010.

Tickets available from / Box Office : 0844 576 5483


Single ‘We Want War’, in all its 7-minute glory, will precede the album on January 11 on download and 10".

1. Time Xone

2. We Want War

3. Three Thousand

4. Hologram

5. Attack Music

6. Fire–Power

7. Orion

8. Canticle

9. Drum Courts–Where Corals Lie

10. White Chords

11. 5