After forming in 1990, Tim Gane, Laetitia Sadier, Simon Johns, Joseph Watson and Julien Gasc dedicated their time to creating alternative rock music, often likened to such artists as The Velvet Underground, Sonic Youth and My Bloody Valentine. Being signed to Duophonic/Elektra for nearly the whole of their active years, Stereolab released 10 studio albums, the latest being released after their disbanding in 2010, going by the name ‘Not Music’ and consisting of previously unreleased material. In 2009 Stereolab announced that they would be going on a period of ‘indefinite hiatus’.